Leadership Manhattan

271902146_10165956091245285_7602216765605773590_n2022 Leadership Manhattan Class photo

2022 Class Dates

Get Acquainted DinnerJanuary 10, 2022Class DinnerManhattan
IJanuary 11, 2022OrientationManhattan

January 11, 2022Welcome Reception
IIJanuary 25, 2022Local Government-City FunctionsManhattan


February 9, 2022State Government
February 10, 2022State GovernmentTopeka
IVFebruary 22, 2022Community and Town Gown RelationsManhattan
VMarch 8, 2022Civic Engagement - Community AwarenessManhattan
VIMarch 22, 2022EducationManhattan
VIIApril 5, 2022Development and IndustryManhattan
GraduationApril 19, 2022GraduationManhattan

Listing of Leadership Manhattan Alumni


  • Identify potential business and community leaders, motivate them to become part of Leadership Manhattan
  • Provide these leaders with an awareness of the issues and opportunities facing the community
  • Expand and sharpen leadership skills and techniques
  • Facilitate ongoing communication and engagement among emerging and established leaders within the community
  • Encourage these trained and informed leaders to increase their involvement in local community affairs by matching skills and interests to existing goals


  • Increased source of quality leaders for the Manhattan area
  • Access to quality leadership training program that benefits participants, their employers and community
  • Assist potential leaders to develop, match their skills and interests with needs of the community
  • Improved communications network among civic, business, social and educational leaders
  • Leadership base with broadened perspective to more effectively guide the community into its future

Lyle Butler Distinguished Leadership Award Winners

Nomination Form for the 2021 Award Winner

YearWinnerClass Year
2003Kent GlasscockClass of 1986
2004Brent BowmanClass of 1985
2005Mitzi RichardsClass of 1986
2006Bill KennedyClass of 1986
2007Mary LindquistClass of 1988
2008Wayne SloanClass of 1985
2009Sue MaesClass of 1985
2010Dan YunkClass of 1986
2011Bruce McMillanClass of 1986
2012Mark KnackendoffelClass of 1989
2013Jason HilgersClass of 2009
2014Tom HawkClass of 1985
2015Kristin BrightonClass of 2009
2016Lucy WilliamsClass of 2007
2017Neil HortonClass of 2006
2018Mary VanierClass of 2003
2019Larie SchoapClass of 2011
2020Amy Button RenzClass of 1990
2021Tom PhillipsClass of 2006


  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8